Click here to see the organisation chart.



BiK-F participates in:


Sustainability Strategy Hesse:



Welcome to the Website of BiK-F!

On February 15, 2008 in the framework of the Initiative for the Development of Scientific and Economic Excellence (LOEWE) of the Federal State of Hesse, the Senckenberg Nature Research Society (SGN) and Goethe University of Frankfurt am Main (GU) jointly submitted an application for the funding of a Biodiversity and Climate Research Centre.
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Volker Mosbrugger, Director General of the Senckenberg Research Institutes and Natural History Museums, supervised the application procedure and endorsed the responsibility of Scientific Coordinator of the new Research Centre. Dr. Johannes Heilmann (SGN) is the Administrative Coordinator.

The centre is led by an executive committee. Members of the provisional executive committee are (in alphabetic order): Prof. Dr. Katrin Böhning-Gaese (Executive Director BiK-F), Dr. Johannes Heilmann (SGN), Dr. Thomas Jahn (ISOE), Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. Volker Mosbrugger (SGN, GU), Prof. Dr. Andreas Mulch (Vice director BiK-F), Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Oschmann (GU), Prof. Dr. Jörg Oehlmann (GU), Prof. Dr. Georg Zizka (SGN, GU). This committee is supported by the Scientific Board of the Centre (Prof. Dr. Volker Storch, Prof. Dr. Michael Wink, Prof. Dr. Hans-Joachim Poethke, Prof. Dr. Jörn Thiede, Prof. Dr. Christian Körner, Prof. Dr. Martin Claussen, Prof. Dr. Patricia Holm).

Land of ideas